Corel:Backup and Recovery in CorelDRAW X6 – Corel Knowledgebase
This article will show you that the program can automatically save backup of cdr files and prompt you to recover them in the event of a system error. The auto-backup feature saves drawings that you have opened and modified. During any working session with CorelDRAW, you can set the time interval for automatically backing up files and specify whether you want the files to be saved in your temporary folder (the default location) or in a specified folder. You can recover the backup files from the temporary or specified folder when you restart CorelDRAW after a system error. If you choose not to recover the backup file, it is automatically erased when you quit the application. Auto-backup files are named auto_backup_of_filename and can be saved in any folder you specify. Backup files are created when you save a drawing. They are named backup_of_filename and are always stored in the same folder as the original drawing. All open or modified files that are not in CorelDRAW (CDR) file format are backed up as CorelDRAW files. If you click Cancel, CorelDRAW ignores the backup file and deletes it when you quit the application. Source.